Empowering Local Businesses
Home city guide municipal corporation

Bhubaneswar Municipal Corporation (BMC)

The City of Bhubaneswar is governed, managed and developed by the Bhubaneswar Municipal Corporation (BMC). BMC is the official body that is responsible for the welfare of the Bhubaneswar city. BMC is the local urban governing body of the capital which consists of democratically elected members. The Mayor-in-council is the apex body of the city where the Mayor acts as the head of the Council. In the absence of the Mayor, the Deputy Mayor acts as his substitute.

BMC was established in the year 1994 and it covers an area of 135 sq km. There are a total of 60 administrative wards in the city and each ward has to elect one councilor to the Municipal Corporation.

The current officials of the BMC are as follows:
Operating party- Biju Janata Dal
Mayor: Ananta Narayan Jena
Deputy Mayor: Bharati Singh


BMC has undertaken pioneering work in various fields and perceives its role as principal provider of services and responsibilities as detailed below to provide a better quality of life to the residents of Bhubaneswar
  • Health & Sanitation
  • Slum Development
  • Disaster Management
  • City Beautification
  • Citizen Services
  • Efficient Solid Waste Management
  • Underground Sewerage System in the city
  • Efficient Urban Planning and Development
  • Online Services
  • Vending Zones
  • Parking Zones

Contact Information

For more information you may like to visit the official website of the Bhubaneswar Municipal Corporation

Helpline number: 18003456770, or 155335.
Mayor, Ananta Narayan Jena:    9437494700, 9861015517
Deputy Mayor, Bharati Singh: 9861805404

Are you a Business Owner?

Add the products or services you offer

Promote your business on your local city site and get instant enquiries